clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big East Football Postseason Awards 2011: Seven Syracuse Players Honored

The 2011 Big East football postseason awards were released on Thursday, honoring seven Syracuse Orange players. 

Syracuse fielded four out of the 15 players named to the conference's offensive first team. The crew was highlighted by Antwon Bailey, a 5-foot-7, 205-pound running back from Landover, Maryland who rushed for 1,051 yards and six touchdowns. He was joined on the offensive first team by tight end Nick Provo, plus offensive linemen Justin Pugh and Andrew Tiller. Provo finished the season with 51 catches, 537 yards and seven touchdowns.

Defensive lineman Chandler Jones was Syracuse's lone representative on the defensive first team. Jones finished the season with 4.5 sacks and 39 tackles.

Two more Syracuse players were selected to the conference's second team: wide receiver Alec Lemon, who caught 68 passes for 834 yards and six touchdowns, and linebacker Marquis Spruill, who contributed 62 tackles.

For more Syracuse Orange football coverage, visit our team page, or our blog Nunes Magician