clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Home Run Derby 2012: Lineup, TV Schedule, Start Time And More

On Monday evening, the 2012 Home Run Derby will draw the attention of millions once again with the premier sluggers in the world going toe-to-toe.

Matt Kemp of the Los Angeles Dodgers and defending champion Robinson Cano of the New York Yankees were chosen as captains for their respective leagues. From there, each of them got to pick three players to do battle with in Kansas City.

Cano has a stacked team with Prince Fielder of the Detroit Tigers, Mark Trumbo of the Los Angeles Angels, and Jose Bautista of the Toronto Blue Jays. That foursome will be looking to keep the American League with it's flag held high.

Kemp has chosen Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen, St. Louis Cardinals outfielder Carlos Beltran and Carlos Gonzalez of the Colorado Rockies in an effort to take the preverbal belt for the National League.

The rules are simple: each player gets 10 outs (any pitch swung at that isn't a home run). The top four totals will move on from the first round, then the top two combined totals will go into the finals, where the slate is wiped clean and the best round wins it all.

It should be a wild night at Kauffman Stadium with the players putting on quite a show.


Time: 8:00 p.m. ET

For more on the Home Run Derby, please be sure to check out our blogs Pinstripe Alley and Amazin' Avenue. Also take a look at SB Nation and SB Nation New York for all the latest news and updates.