clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL Discusses Bill Leavy's Ruling On Greg Jennings' Fumble Against Giants

The NFL issued a statement today on the controversial replay in Sunday's New York Giants-Green Bay Packers game. The topic of the statement was the ruling referee Bill Leavy made on an apparent by Packers wide receiver Greg Jennings in the first quarter in the playoff game on Sunday against the Giants (via PFT).


As you can clearly see, the ball was on the way out before any part of Jennings' body was down. The Giants challenged the ruling on the field that Jennings was down. After Leavy went under the hood and viewed the replay, he confirmed the call.

Here's what the NFL had to say

"Rule 7, Section 2, Article 1 of the NFL Rule Book (page 35) states: ‘An official shall declare the ball dead and the down ended: (a) when a runner is contacted by a defensive player and touches the ground with any part of his body other than his hands or feet,'" the league said in a statement emailed to PFT by NFL spokesman Greg Aiello. "So by rule, if Jennings' calf was on the ground prior to the ball coming loose, he is down by contact. Contrary to what was suggested during the game, there is no need for the runner's knee to be on the ground."

That seems like an unnecessary shot at the Fox crew which was calling the game. The league backed Leavy stating

"Referee Bill Leavy conducted the instant replay video review and determined that there was no indisputable visual evidence to warrant reversing the on-field ruling of down by contact. As a result, the ruling on the field stood."

If the animated shot of the fumble wasn't conclusive enough for you, here's video of the fumble. After the call was not overturned, the Packers scored a touchdown. Luckily, the blown call did not impact the outcome of the game.

For more coverage of Giants vs. Packers, stay tuned to our storystream. For more Giants coverage, visit our team page or our blog Big Blue View.