clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NIT Championship 2013 schedule: Baylor, Iowa square off for title

Baylor and Iowa will meet in Madison Square Garden on Thursday evening to decide the 2013 NIT champion.


The 2013 National Invitation Tournament concludes on Thursday with the championship game between the Baylor Bears and Iowa Hawkeyes.

Complete game coverage: Our Daily Bears Black Heart Gold Pants

Just one year removed from an Elite Eight appearance, Baylor had a disappointing season and just missed out on the NCAA Tournament, but they hope to finish the season on a high note. They crushed Long Beach State in the first round, outlasted Arizona State, took care of Providence and defeated BYU to get to this point. Pierre Jackson has been a key cog in their tournament run, averaging just over 20 points a game in the NIT.

Iowa was another team that just missed the NCAA postseason cut, and have had a dominant run through the tourney. They beat Indiana State, Stony Brook, Virginia and Maryland to get to the finals and won each of their games by 11 points or more.

Here's the complete schedule for the title game:

Game time: 9 P.M. ET

TV: ESPN (also streaming online at WatchESPN for cable subscribers)

Location: Madison Square Garden, New York

Line: Iowa by 1

More in College Basketball:

Living and playing basketball with cancer

Andrew Wiggins is the anti-LeBron

Rutgers coach Mike Rice fired after abuse allegations

3 reasons why Michigan beats Syracuse

The best recruiting class ever? Calipari reloads