clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PGA Championship Winner 2012: Rory McIlroy Wins By Record Eight Strokes

Rory McIlroy won the 2012 PGA Championship at the Ocean Course at Kiawah Island Golf Resort in South Carolina by eight strokes. McIlroy finished 13-under-par for the tournament and was 6-under on Sunday.

Defending PGA Championship winner St. John's grad Keegan Bradley finished 4-under for the tournament and was among four players tied for third with that score. David Lynn finished second at 5-under. Tiger Woods finished tied for 11th place, at 2-under-par.

McIlroy's win was his second in a major championship after he previously won the 2011 U.S. Open. Like his other major tournament win, McIlroy played his best on the weekend and left the rest of the field in the dust. His eight stroke victory is a new record in PGA Championship history.

For a complete live leaderboard, visit

Stick with this StoryStream for leaderboard updates, scores and more from the 2012 PGA Championship. For all things golf, head over to SB Nation's golf hub.