clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NASCAR Watkins Glen 2012: Marcos Ambrose Wins Second Consecutive Race At Watkins Glen

Marcos Ambrose won for the second consecutive year at Watkins Glen International in the Finger Lakes 355 at the Watkins Glen NASCAR Sprint Cup Series race on Sunday. The win was also the second of the Australian's career.

Ambrose went from third to first and held off Brad Keselowski for the win on a wild final two laps at Watkins Glen. Kyle Busch was in the lead during the white flag lap but slid in a patch of oil on the track. Keselowski also ran across the oil and spun Busch when he struck his car. Keselowski and Ambrose were side-by-side until the final corner when Ambrose took the lead.

Here's how the top five finished at the Finger Lakes 355 at the Glen:

1. Marcos Ambrose
2. Brad Keselowski
3. Jimmie Johnson
4. Clint Bowyer
5. Sam Hornish Jr.

With the third place finish, Johnson moved up three spots in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series standings to regain first place with 777 points. Greg Biffle trails Johnson by just one point. Ambrose moved up one spot to 17th in the standings with the victory.

Stick with SB Nation New York for more coverage from Watkins Glen. For all things NASCAR, head over to SB Nation's NASCAR hub.