clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Tour de France Results: Fabian Cancellara Dominates Prologue Again

Radio Shack-Nissan's Fabian Cancellara won his fourth consecutive Tour de France prologue, taking the 3.9 mi (6.4 km) course held in Liege, Belgium, with a time of seven minutes and 13 seconds. The Swiss time trial specialist holds the a seven second lead over Sky's Bradley Wiggins and Omega Pharma-Quick Step's Sylvian Chavanel.

BSC's Tejay van Garderen was the fastest American to finish the course, finishing the prologue in fourth place with a time of seven minutes and 23 seconds. Queens, NY native George Hincapie was the second quickest American, finishing in 22nd place with a time of 7 minutes and 33 seconds, 20 seconds behind Cancellara.

The top 10 after today's prologue is below:

  1. Fabian Cancellara, RSH
  2. Bradley Wiggins, Sky, at 0.07
  3. Sylvain Chavanel, OPQS, s.t.
  4. Tejay Van Garderen, BMC, at 0.10
  5. Edvald Boasson Hagen, Sky, at 0.11
  6. Brett Lancaster, Orica GreenEdge, s.t.
  7. Patrick Gretsch, Argos Shimano, at 0.12
  8. Denis Menchov, Katusha, at 0.13
  9. Philippe Gilbert, BMC, s.t.
  10. Andriy Grivko, Astana, at 0.15

Stick with this StoryStream for previews, updates and more from the 2012 Tour de France. For full time cycling news and analysis, head over to SB Nation's cycling blog Podium Cafe.