clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NHL Awards 2012: Gabriel Landeskog Tops Adam Henrique For Calder Trophy

Colorado Avalanche winger Gabriel Landeskog topped Adam Henrique of the New Jersey Devils in the voting for the 2012 Calder Trophy, awarded to the NHL's top rookie. Oilers center Ryan Nugent-Hopkins was also a runner-up for professional hockey's rookie of the year award.

Landeskog, the second player selected in the 2011 NHL Draft, had 52 points last season, tied with Nugent-Hopkins for the lead among all first-year players. Landeskog had 22 goals and 30 assists last season. He is the first Avalanche player to win the award since Chris Drury took home the Calder Trophy in 1999.

Henrique finished the season with 51 points, including 16 goals. His point total was the fourth-best mark on a Devils team that made it all the way to the Stanley Cup Finals. Henrique averaged more than 18 minutes of ice time per game.

-- For more coverage of the NHL's Award Night from Las Vegas, stay tuned to our StoryStream. For more NHL news, see SB Nation's NHL Hub Page