clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Belmont Stakes Facts & Figures: 19 Failed Attempts At Triple Crown Glory

I'll Have Another will try on June 9 at the Belmont Stakes to become the 12th Triple Crown winner in horse racing history, and the first since Affirmed in 1978. Nineteen horses have tried and failed to do what I'll Have Another will attempt during the 1.5-mile 'Test of Champions' at Belmont Park. Four of those failed attempts at Triple Crown glory have come since 2002.

Here is the complete list of horses who won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes, only to fall short in the Belmont Stakes.

Year Horse Owner Winner
1944 Pensive Calumet Farm Bounding Home
1958 Tim Tam Calumet Farm Cavan
1961 Carry Back Mrs. Katherine Price Sherluck
1964 Northern Dancer Windfields Farm Quadrangle
1966 Kauai King Michael Ford Amberoid
1968 Forward Pass Calumet Farm Stage Door Johnny
1969 Majestic Prince Frank McMahon Arts And Letters
1971 Canonero II Edgard Caibett Pass Catcher
1979 Spectacular Bid Hawksworth Farm Coastal
1981 Pleasant Colony Buckland Farm Summing
1987 Alysheba Dorothy & Pamela Scharbauer Bet Twice
1989 Sunday Silence Arthur Hancock Ill Easy Goer
1997 Silver Charm Bob & Beverly Lewis Touch Gold
1998 Real Quiet Michael Pegram Victory Gallop
1999 Charismatic Bob & Beverly Lewis Lemon Drop Kid
2002 War Emblem Ahmed bin Salman Sarava
2003 Funny Cide Sackatoga Stable Empire Maker
2004 Smarty Jones Someday Farm Birdstone
2008 Big Brown IEAH Stables Da’ Tara