clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Belmont Stakes Facts & Figures: Triple Crown Winners


Leading up to the Triple Crown bid by I'll Have Another at the 2012 Belmont Stakes on June 9 at Belmont Park we will be posting a series of 'Belmont Stakes Facts & Figures.' As often as we can leading up I'll Have Another's run for horse racing history we will provide you with interesting, hopefully useful, snippets of information.

There really is only one place to start. That is with the complete list of Triple Crown winners. There have been 11 of them in horse racing history. The list is as follows:

1919 -- Sir Barton
1930 -- Gallant Fox
1935 -- Omaha
1937 -- War Admiral
1941 -- Whirlaway
1943 -- Count Fleet
1946 -- Assault
1948 -- Citation
1973 -- Secretariat
1977 -- Seattle Slew
1978 -- Affirmed

-- For more on each of the 11 Triple Crown champions, you can see Can I'll Have Another win 'The Test Of Champions?' Some thoughts on that in the SB Nation YouTube video below.

Triple Crown 2012: I'll Have Another Wins Preakness Stakes (via sbnation)