clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yankees Opening Day 2012: New York Lineup, Batting Order Posted

The New York Yankees are hours away from opening-up their 2012 season Friday, and the lineup has already been posted by YES Network via Twitter. Now if you're a Yankee historian, then you might want to bookmark this page, so in the future you can use it as a reference.

Jokes aside, nothing unexpected from manger Joe Girardi, who posted this lineup and batting order for the Yanks match-up with the Tampa Bay Rays, which begins at 3:10 p.m. ET:

1) Derek Jeter, SS
2) Curtis Granderson, CF
3) Robinson Cano, 2B
4) Alex Rodriguez, 3B
5) Mark Teixeira, 1B
6) Nick Swisher, RF
7) Raul Ibanez, DH
8) Russell Martin, C
9) Brett Gardner, LF

On the mound for New York is ace CC Sabathia, who will oppose Tampa Bay's James Shields. Also, if needed, the Yankees Mariano Rivera will close out the game in the begging of his 18th season.

For more on the Yankees, check out the SB Nation blog Pinstripe Alley, while D-Rays Bay is all about the Rays.