clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

NFL MVP Award 2012: Aaron Rodgers Unanimous Winner Of AP Honor

Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers earned the NFL's MVP Award Saturday night during the "NFL Honors" primetime special Saturday night on NBC. Rodgers earned 48 of the 50 first-place votes to become the first Packer to win the award since former quarterback Brett Favre did so in 1997.

Despite his amazing regular season, Rodgers's MVP Award couldn't help him lead the Packers past the New York Giants, who will be playing in the 2012 Super Bowl against the New England Patriots (6:30 p.m. on NBC), in the NFC Divisional Round.

A full list of NFL Award winners for 2012 after the jump...

The NFL's Offensive Player of the Year, New Orleans Saints quarter Drew Brees, was the only other player to earn first-place votes (2). Brees finished the year with an NFL-record of 5,476 pass yards and helped the Saints reach the postseason.

Meanwhile, Baltimore Ravens linebacker Terrell Suggs was named Defensive Player of the Year after he compiled 70 tackles and 14 sacks during the season.

San Fransisco 49ers head coach Jim Harbaugh earned Coach of the Year honors. The 49ers went a surprising 13-3 during the regular season but lost in the NFC Championship Game to the New York Giants two weeks ago.

MVP: Aaron Rodgers -- QB Green Bay Packers
Offensive Player of the Year: Drew Brees -- QB New Orleans Saints
Defensive Player of the Year: Terrell Suggs -- LB Baltimore Ravens
Offensive Rookie of the Year: Cam Newton -- QB Carolina Panthers
Defensive Rookie of the Year: Von Miller -- LB Denver Broncos
Comeback Player of the Year: Mattew Stafford -- QB Detriot Lions
NFL Man of the Year: Matt Birk -- OL Baltimore Ravens
NFL Head Coach of the Year: Jim Harbaugh -- San Fransisco 49ers

See Big Blue View for more discussion and analysis of the Giants. For everything about the 2012 Super Bowl, check back to this SB Nation New York StoryStream.