clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Super Bowl Winners: Giants, Patriots Are Elite Champions

The New York Giants and New England Patriots will face each other Sunday in Super Bowl 46 (6:30 p.m. on NBC), and both franchises will be looking to add another championship to their trophy mantel. The Giants and Patriots are both part of an elite company of Super Bowl winners that has won multiple titles.

Currently, New York and New England each have three Super Bowl titles, a mark tied for fifth all-time with the Oakland Raiders and Washington Redskins. Ahead of those organizations are: the Pittsburgh Steelers (6), who has won the most Super Bowls, Dallas Cowboys (5), San Fransisco 49ers (5) and the Green Bay Packers (4), respectively.

The winner Sunday will move into that next level of top-notch NFL franchises in the history of the game.

A brief list of other past Super Bowl winner with results since the Giants first title in '87 after the jump...

Super Bowl winners below:

2011: Green Bay def. Pittsburgh, 31-25 (MVP
2010: New Orleans Saints def. Indianapolis Colts, 31-17
2009: Pittsburgh Steelers def. Arizona Cardinals, 27-23
2008: New York Giants def. New England, 17-14
2007: Indianapolis def. Chicago Bears, 29-17
2006: Pittsburgh def. Seattle Seahawks, 21-10
2005: New England def. Philadelphia Eagles, 24-21
2004: New England def. Carolina Panthers, 32-29
2003: Tampa Bay Buccaneers def. Oakland Raiders, 48-21
2002: New England def. St. Louis Rams, 20-17
2001: Baltimore Raves def. New York Giants, 34-7
2000: St. Louis Rams def. Tennessee Titans, 23-16
1999: Denver Broncos def. Atlanta Falcons, 34-19
1998: Denver def. Atlanta Falcons, 34-19
1997: Green Bay def. New England, 35-21
1996: Dallas Cowboys def. Pittsburgh Steelers, 27-17
1995: San Francisco def. San Diego Chargers, 49-26
1994: Dallas def. Buffalo Bills, 30-13
1993: Dallas def. Buffalo, 52-17
1992: Washington def. Buffalo, 37-24
1991: New York Giants def. Buffalo, 20-19
1990: San Francisco def. Denver, 55-10
1989: San Francisco def. Cincinnati Bengals, 20-16
1988: Washington def. Denver, 42-10
1987: New York Giants def. Denver, 39-20

Note: the winner of the first Super Bowl was Green Bay which defeated the Kansas City Chiefs, 35-10, in 1967.