clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Heisman Trophy 2012 winner: Johnny Manziel becomes first freshman to win

The Texas A&M quarterback took home the honor on Saturday night.

Mike Stobe

For the first time ever, a freshman has won the Heisman Trophy. Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M took home the honor on Saturday night, as he beat out fellow finalists Manti Te'o of Notre Dame and Collin Klein of Kansas State.

Manziel gained national attention when his Aggies went into Alabama and knocked off the undefeated Crimson Tide. In that game, the freshman threw for 253 yards and two touchdowns, while rushing for 92 yards.

For the season, Manziel tallied 3,419 passing yards, 24 touchdowns and 8 interceptions. He also ran for 1,181 yards and 19 touchdowns.

He is the sixth quarterback to win in the last seven seasons and the third SEC player to win in the last four seasons.

The only other Texas A&M player to ever win the award was John David Crow in 1957.

Manziel and the Aggies will play Oklahoma in the Cotton Bowl on Jan. 4.