clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 Heisman Trophy predictions: Will A.J. McCarron or Braxton Miller be finalists?

Who will be named a Heisman Trophy finalists today at 6 p.m. ET?

Gary A. Vasquez-US PRESSWIRE

The announcement of the 2012 Heisman Trophy winner will be made this Saturday at the Best Buy Theater in Times Square (8 p.m. ET on ESPN). All signs point to Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel being named the most outstanding college football player.

Though, the winner is clear-cut there's still a lot of guessing about who will be a finalist, which will be announced Monday at 6 p.m. ET on ESPN.

Obviously, Manziel is a shoo-in, and so is Notre Dame Fighting Irish linebacker Manti Te'o and Kansas St. Wildcats quarterback Collin Klein, to be named a finalist, which is determined by a percentage of the vote.

With these three players more than likely going, it leaves one or possibly two more spots remaining on the Heisman plane to New York.

So, who deserves the nod?

According to, the final two slots could go to Ohio St. Buckeyes quarterback Braxton Miller and USC Trojans wide receiver Marquee Lee. Christ Houston of CBS Sports has the same exact list.

Players being left out are: Oregon Ducks running back Kenjon Barner, Alabama Crimson Tide quarterback A.J. McCarron and Northern Illinois Huskies quarterback Jordan Lynch.

If I had a ballot, it would look like: 1) Johnny Manziel, 2) Manti T'eo, 3) Collin Klein. I believe A.J. McCarron and Braxton Miller will make it to New York.

Best of luck to all those players tonight.