clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

R.A. Dickey wins National League Cy Young Award

New York Mets pitcher R.A. Dickey won the National League Cy Young Award on Wednesday.

Marc Serota

New York Mets pitcher R.A. Dickey was named the National League Cy Young Award winner on Wednesday. Dickey won the award, handed out by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, with 27 first-place votes and five second-place votes for 209 points. Dickey beat out Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Gio Gonzalez of the Washington Nationals.

Dickey had the best season of his career at age 37 (he turned 38 on Oct. 29). He finished the 2012 season with a 20-6 record for the Mets with a 2.73 ERA, 1.053 WHIP and 230 strikeouts. His 230 strikeouts were the most in the National League. Dickey had a WAR of 5.6 and pitched a NL-best three complete game shutouts. Dickey was the first Met to win the award since Dwight Gooden won it in 1985.

Kershaw finished second with two first place votes and 96 points. Gonzalez finished third with one first-place vote and 93 points. For a full breakdown of voting, visit the BBWAA website.