clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Big East football: Rutgers to play in East Division starting in 2013

The Big East Conference announced Tuesday a new two-division format that will begin next season.


Big East Conference commissioner Mike Aresco announced Tuesday the league will split into two six-team divisions in football and will hold its first ever championship game starting next season.

The championship game will be played between the winners of the East and West divisions. The contest will not be played at a neutral site but at the home field of one of the division champions.

The Big East, which will add the Central Florida Knights, Boise St. Broncos, Houston Cougars, Memphis Tigers, San Diego St. Aztecs and SMU Mustangs next season, released the new divisions.

East Division

Cincinnati Bearcats
Connecticut Huskies
Louisville Cardinals
Rutgers Scarlet Knights
South Florida Bulls
Central Florida

West Division

Temple Owls
Boise State
San Diego St.

Aresco noted the division alignment will be revisited after the '14 season, when the Navy Midshipmen and possibly other schools begin to play in the Big East.

The league also announced its extension with Madison Square Garden, the host of conference's men's basketball tournament, has been extended through 2026.