clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Yankees 1B Mark Teixeira, 2B Robinson Cano win Gold Gloves

Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano of the Yankees took home Gold Glove awards on Tuesday.

Al Bello

New York Yankees first baseman Mark Teixeira and second baseman Robinson Cano have won the 2012 American League Gold Glove award for their respective positions.

For Teixeira, this year's award marks the fifth such honor in his 10-year MLB career. Teixeira posted a league-leading .999 fielding percentage in 2012, committing just one error in 1,055 chances. Teixeira was no slouch in terms of advanced metrics either, ranking third among full-time AL first basemen with a total zone rating of 4.

Cano is now a two-time recipient of the award, which he won for the first time in 2010. Cano led all full-time AL second basemen with a .992 fielding percentage. His six errors were the second-fewest in the league behind Dustin Pedroia of the Red Sox, as was his total zone rating of 10.

Here is the full list of 2012 Gold Glove winners:

National League

C: Yadier Molina

1B: Adam LaRoche

2B: Darwin Barney

SS: Jimmy Rollins

3B: Chase Headley

LF: Carlos Gonzalez

CF: Andrew McCutchen

RF: Jason Heyward

P: Mark Buehrle

American League

C: Matt Wieters

1B: Mark Teixeira

2B: Robinson Cano

SS: J.J. Hardy

3B: Adrian Beltre

LF: Alex Gordon

CF: Adam Jones

RF: Josh Reddick

P: Jake Peavy, Jeremy Hellickson