clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Giants Training Camp, Day 1: Will Osi Umenyiora Show Up?

The New York Giants open their 2011 training camp, and the big question of the day revolves around whether or not unhappy defensive end Osi Umenyiora will show up.

Jason LaCanfora of the NFL Network tweeted that Umenyiora, who wants the Giants to re-negotiate his current contract, did not show up at the Timex Performance Center for his physical this morning. LaCanfora said the veteran defensive end, who had 11.5 sacks and 10 forced fumbles a season ago, wants a trade if he can't get a new deal from the Giants.

Pat Traina of Inside Football tweeted that her sources indicate Umenyiora will show up today "at some point."

Umenyiora, you might recalls, had filed an affidavit as part of the players' anti-trust lawshuit against the NFL claiming that Giants GM Jerry Reese had lied to him about his contract. What will happen with Umenyiora is only one of many questions facing the Giants as they open training camp.

Another is what will happen with Plaxico Burress when the former Giants wide receiver and Coughlin dine today? Could there be a reunion between the two sides despite the well-known differences between coach and player, and despite Burress landing in prison after shooting himself in the leg with an unregistered handgun at a Manhattan nightclub during the 2008 season? Giants President John Mara is interested, and that means it is a possibility Burress could be a Giant if things go smoothly this evening.

On the field, the Giants are looking to get back to the playoffs for the first time in three seasons. They went 10-6 a season ago, but still fell short. With the New York Jets, who now share New Meadowlands Stadium with the Giants, having reached the AFC Championship Game two seasons in a row, there is pressure on Coughlin and the Giants to end their playoff drought.

One of the interesting things to watch throughout camp and the preseason will be the revamped offensive line. The Giants released starting guard Rich Seubert, starting center Shaun O'Hara and backup Shawn Andrews, and signed former San Francisco 49er David Baas to play center. The Giants have also reportedly informed veteran David Diehl that he will move from left tackle to left guard, and that third-year man Will Beatty is taking over the tackle job.

Training Camp Practice Schedule

Practices will be held at the Timex Performance Center and are free to the public on a first-come, first-serve basis. There are space limitations, so get there early if you wish to attend.

Saturday, July 30

6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Sunday, July 31
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Monday, August 1
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Tuesday, August 2
No practice

Wednesday, August 3
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Thursday, August 4
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Friday, August 5
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Saturday, August 6
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Sunday, August 7
6:00-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Monday, August 8
6:00-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Tuesday, August 9
No practice

Wednesday, August 10
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Thursday, August 11
6:00-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Friday, August 12
Travel to Carolina

Saturday, August 13
Giants at Carolina, 8 p.m.

Sunday, August 14
No practice

Monday, August 15
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Tuesday, August 16
No practice

Wednesday, August 17
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Thursday, August 18
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Friday, August 19
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

Saturday, August 20
6-8:10 p.m. - Practice

(Public Access to Training Camp Ends)