clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

New York Yankees Spring Training: Pitchers, Catchers Report Monday

There is plenty of snow on the ground if you live in the Northeast, and wintry cold temperatures to go along with it. Baseball, though, is right around the corner. Several New York Yankees are already working out at the team's minor league complex in Tampa, Fla., including shorstop Derek Jeter, pitcher Phil Hughes and newly-signed free-agent catcher Russell Martin.

Here are some key Spring Training dates:

  • Feb 14 -- Pitchers and catchers report. Yes, folks, that is Monday. It is almost time!
  • Feb. 19 -- Full squad reports.
  • Feb. 26 -- First Spring Training game.
  • March 31 -- Opening Day

The Yankees, of course, have had an odd offseason for them. They missed out on the free agent everyone wanted -- starting pitcher Cliff Lee, who ended up in Philadelphia. There was the much-publicized contract negotiation with Derek Jeter. There was General Manager Brian Cashman being overruled by Hal Steinbrenner on the signing of free-agent reliever Rafael Soriano. There was the retirement last week of starting pitcher Andy Pettitte.

All this good stuff, and the season hasn't even begun yet. If you are like me, you are ready to go.

The full schedule of Spring Training games is below:

Date Time Road Team Home Team Ballpark
Sat, Feb 26, 2011 1:05 pm EST Phillies @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sun, Feb 27, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Phillies Bright House Networks Field
Mon, Feb 28, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Tigers Joker Marchant Stadium
Tue, Mar 01, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Pirates McKechnie Field
Wed, Mar 02, 2011 1:05 pm EST Astros @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Thu, Mar 03, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Rays Charlotte Sports Park
Fri, Mar 04, 2011 7:05 pm EST Red Sox @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sat, Mar 05, 2011 1:05 pm EST Nationals @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sun, Mar 06, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Astros Osceola County Stadium
Mon, Mar 07, 2011 1:05 pm EST Phillies @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Mon, Mar 07, 2011 7:05 pm EST Yankees @ Orioles Ed Smith Stadium
Tue, Mar 08, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Braves Champion Stadium
Wed, Mar 09, 2011 7:05 pm EST Pirates @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Thu, Mar 10, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Phillies Bright House Networks Field
Fri, Mar 11, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Blue Jays Florida Auto Exchange Stadium
Fri, Mar 11, 2011 1:05 pm EST Braves @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sat, Mar 12, 2011 1:05 pm EST Yankees @ Nationals Space Coast Stadium
Sun, Mar 13, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Twins @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Mon, Mar 14, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Red Sox City of Palms Park
Wed, Mar 16, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Orioles @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Thu, Mar 17, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Rays @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Fri, Mar 18, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Blue Jays Florida Auto Exchange Stadium
Sat, Mar 19, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Blue Jays @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sun, Mar 20, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Phillies Bright House Networks Field
Mon, Mar 21, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Rays Charlotte Sports Park
Tue, Mar 22, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Orioles Ed Smith Stadium
Wed, Mar 23, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Blue Jays @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Fri, Mar 25, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Astros @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sat, Mar 26, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Pirates @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Sun, Mar 27, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Yankees @ Twins Lee County Sports Complex, Hammond County Stadium
Mon, Mar 28, 2011 7:05 pm EDT Rays @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field
Tue, Mar 29, 2011 1:05 pm EDT Tigers @ Yankees George M. Steinbrenner Field