clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 Rutgers Football Schedule: Visiting Pittsburgh, West Virginia Highlight Season

The Rutgers football program's complete 2011 schedule was released Friday afternoon and the Scarlet Knights will host Big East Conference foes the Pittsburgh Panthers, Saturday, Oct. 8, and the West Virginia Mountaineers, Saturday, Oct. 29, at Rutgers Stadium. The Scarlet Knights, who finished last in the eight-team conference in 2010, will begin league play at the Syracuse Orange, Saturday, Oct. 1.

The Scarlet Knights will begin their season by hosting North Carolina Central, Thursday, Sept. 1. The most anticipated non-conference contest will be against Army, Saturday, Nov. 12, at Yankee Stadium.

The Louisville Cardinals will host Rutgers in a Friday night matchup, Oct. 21 (8 p.m. on ESPN). The Scarlet Knights will conclude regular season play, Saturday, Nov. 26, at Connecticut Huskies, who are the defending Big East champions.

Rutgers' Spring practice begins March 29, while its Spring game will be played April 30. Below is the complete 2011 Rutgers schedule:

RUTGERS
 
Thu., Sept. 1
North Carolina Central
Sat., Sept. 10
at North Carolina
Sat., Sept. 24
Ohio
Sat., Oct. 1
at SYRACUSE
Sat., Oct. 8
PITTSBURGH
Sat., Oct. 15
Navy
Fri., Oct. 21
at LOUISVILLE (8 p.m., ESPN)
Sat., Oct. 29
WEST VIRGINIA
Sat., Nov. 5
USF
Sat., Nov. 12
at Army +
Sat., Nov. 19
CINCINNATI
Sat., Nov. 26
at CONNECTICUT
+ at Yankee Stadium, Bronx, N.Y.

-- Click here for the compete 68-game Big East Conference schedule.