clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jeter, Teixeira And Cano Awarded MLB Gold Glove Awards

New, 1 comment

The winners of the first round of major hardware for the 2010 season, the Rawlings American League Gold Glove Awards, were revealed on Tuesday, with three New York Yankees - Derek Jeter, Mark Teixeira and Robinson Cano - getting recognition for their defense.

This is the 36-year-old Jeter's fifth Gold Glove award, putting him in an exclusive club according to the New York Daily News: only five other shortstops in history have won at least five Gold Gloves, led by Ozzie Smith (13) and Omar Vizquel (11) while Luis Aparicio (9), Mark Belanger (8) and Dave Concepcion (5) are the others.

Teixeira has now won four Gold Gloves for his play at first base, this being his second with the Yankees, and it was the first for second base standout Cano.

The other AL winners were the Minnesota Twins' Joe Mauer at catcher, Tampa Bay Rays' third baseman Evan Longoria, Seattle Mariners outfielder Ichiro Suzuki, Seattle Mariners outfielder Franklin Gutierrez and Rays outfielder Carl Crawford. Chicago White Sox pitcher Mark Buehrle was deemed to be the best fielding pitcher, thus earning him a Gold Glove as well.