New York Giants Training Camp: Defending Super Bowl Champs Get Started

Jun 14, 2012; East Rutherford, NJ, USA; New York Giants head coach Tom Coughlin and his team begin training camp Friday. Jim O'Connor-US PRESSWIRE

The defending Super Bowl champion New York Giants officially open their 2012 training camp Friday at UAlbany. Unoffically, action at UAlbany has already begun. Many of the players arrived Wednesday to settle into their campus dorm rooms, and the team will put players through a conditioning test Thursday afternoon.

The first practice will be held Friday afternoon at 1 p.m. ET.

In case you haven't been paying attention this offseason, some familiar faces will be missing. Running back Brandon Jacobs and wide receiver Mario Manningham are in San Francisco, tight end Jake Ballard was claimed on waivers by the New England Patriots and right tackle Kareem McKenzie and safety Deon Grant have not been re-signed.

The biggest free-agent acquisition of the off-season was tight end Martellus Bennett, signed from the Dallas Cowboys. The Giants also traded for linebacker Keith Rivers, who comes from the Cincinnati Bengals and will compete for playing time. The 2012 draft class is headed by running back David Wilson (first round) and wide receiver Reuben Randle (second round).


Position-By-Position Previews

Quarterback
Running Back
Tight End
Wide Receiver
Offensive Line
Defensive Tackle
Defensive End
Linebacker
Cornerback
Safety
Special Teams


Defending their second Super Bowl title in five years the Giants will look to improve upon last season's 9-7 regular-season record. To do so, they must negotiate a brutal 16-game schedule that begins with the NFL season opener Wednesday, Sept. 5 against the Dallas Cowboys.


Giants Schedule


Here is a look at the complete training camp practice schedule at UAlbany. If you are planning a trip to camp and are looking for player autographs,Saturday is Autograph Day. Players will be available after practice from 3:30 - 5 p.m. to sign autographs.

2012 New York Giants Training Camp Schedule

Thurs., July 26: Players Report
Fri., July 27: 1 p.m.
Sat., July 28: 1 p.m.
Sun., July 29: 1 p.m.
Mon., July 30: 1 p.m.
Tues., July 31: No practice.
Wed., Aug. 1: 1 p.m.
Thurs., Aug. 2: 1 p.m.
Fri., Aug. 3: 1 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 4: 1 p.m.
Sun., Aug. 5: No Practice
Mon., Aug. 6: 1 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 7: 1 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 8: 1 p.m.
Thurs., Aug. 9: No Practice
Fri., Aug. 10: at Jacksonville, 7:30 p.m.
Sat., Aug. 11: No Practice
Sun., Aug. 12: 1 p.m.
Mon., Aug. 13: 1 p.m.
Tues., Aug. 14: 1 p.m.
Wed., Aug. 15: No Practice - Break Camp

[See Big Blue View For More | Follow Big Blue View On Twitter]

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SB Nation New York

You must be a member of SB Nation New York to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation New York. You should read them.

Join SB Nation New York

You must be a member of SB Nation New York to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation New York. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.