Preakness Stakes 2012: Preview, TV Schedule, Expected Field

May 5, 2012; Louisville, KY, USA; Mario Gutierrez aboard I'll Have Another is celebrates in the winner's circle after winning the 138th running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs. Brian Spurlock-US PRESSWIRE

Kentucky Derby champion I'll Have Another goes for a victory in the second leg of horse racing's Triple Crown on Saturday in the 137th running of the Preakness Stakes at Pimlico Race Course in Baltimore, Md. Post time Saturday is set for 6:18 p.m. ET with television coverage from NBC.

Thirteen horses, including Derby runner-up Bodemeister, are currently expected to go post-ward in an effort to spoil the Triple Crown bid by I'll Have Another, which would take some of the spotlight off the 2012 Belmont Stakes, the Triple Crown's third leg. Bodemeister, owner by Zayat Stables of Hackensack, N.J. was the favored horse in the Kentucky Derby but could not hold off I'll Have Another during the stretch run.

I'll Have Another went off with 15-1 odds in the Derby and outran Bodemeister by 11/4-lengths for the victory. I'll Have Another is unbeaten in three starts this year, having also won the Robert G. Lewis Stakes and the Santa Anita Derby.

The 2012 Belmont Stakes, in Elmont, N.Y., is scheduled for June 9. No horse has won racing's Triple Crown since Affirmed in 1978. Four times in the last decade horses have won the first two legs of the Triple Crown but failed to win the Belmont -- War Emblem (2002), Funny Cide (2003), Smarty Jones (2004) and most recently Big Brown (2008). Saturday we find out if I'll Have Another can become the latest horse to have a shot at history in the Belmont.

Below is a look at the expected field for Saturday's race.

Horse Owner Trainer Jockey Breeder
Creative Cause Heinz Steinmann Mike Harrington Joel Rosario James C. Weigel
Went the Day Well Team Valor International and Mark Ford H. Graham Motion John R. Velazquez James Patrick Delaney
Teeth of the Dog J. W. Singer Michael Matz Joe Bravo Royal Pegasus
Tiger Walk Sagamore Farm Ignacio Correas IV Kent Desormeaux River Bend Farm
Isn't He Clever J. Kirk & Judy Robinson Steven Asmussen TBA Monticule
Optimizer Bluegrass Hall D. Wayne Lukas Corey Nakatani Bluegrass Hall
Hierro Stonestreet Stables Steven M. Asmussen Julien Leparoux Sally Andersen
Bodemeister Zayat Stables and Southern Equine Stable Bob Baffert Mike Smith Audley Farm, Inc.
Pretension Kidwells Petite Stable Christopher Grove Javier Santiago Sequel Thoroughbreds and A. Lakin & Sons
Hansen Kendell Hensen, M.D. and Sky Chai Racing Michael Maker Ramon Dominguez Dr. Kendall Hansen
Zetterholm Winter Park Partners Richard Dutrow Jr. Junior Alvarado Anthony Grey
Cozzetti Albaugh Family Stables Dale Romans Jose Lezcano Soc. Agr. Santa Elena De Chimbarongo
Brimstone Island William A. Campbell William A. Campbell Xavier Perez Glencrest Farm

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation New York

You must be a member of SB Nation New York to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation New York. You should read them.

Join SB Nation New York

You must be a member of SB Nation New York to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation New York. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.